Brand new Graduate Student with OMA: Hello Everyone!!

23 09 2009

 

Buenos Dias, Hello Everyone!  I am the newest Graduate Assistant for the Office of Multicultural Affairs.  I graduated with my BA in Sociology at Washington State University.  While working at WSU I served as a Student Mentor for three years working alongside freshmen and transfer students as they adjusted to college.  This experience proved to be the catalyst in my decision to continue to work in the field of student affairs.   I have a profound passion in serving students and their needs, I understand the importance of higher education and the impact a good mentor can have on students.  I am currently enrolled at SU’s College of Education, Student Development Administration Program. 

I am thrilled to be a part of such a great team here at OMA.  I am excited to be working with the students of color and the LGBTQ communities to foster a positive and supportive space for everyone to feel welcome at Seattle University.  My goal is to provide relevant programming to promote the successful transition, persistence, achievement, and graduationof multicultural and LGBTQ students.

Outside of the office I enjoy playing all sorts of sports specifically basketball, volleyball and baseball.  I am an avid sports follower and am always keeping up on my favorite teams that include the Seahawks, Sounders and WSU Cougs and now I will be rooting for Seattle University Red Hawks.  Again, I am extremely excited to be part of the SU and OMA family and look forward to serving in my role as the Graduate Assistant for the Office of Multicultural Affairs. 

This picture is of me at the Presidents Award banquet with my biggest mentor Karla Blanco. 

I look forward to a great year at Seattle University!!

 me and karla

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

